Our centre has two main committees, the Steering Committee chaired by , and an Advisory Committee chaired by We have five research streams and are members of two Centres of Research Excellence:

Prevention and Management of Long Term Conditions
This stream is a response to the challenge of long term conditions to health and health care services, these conditions include diabetes, cardiovascular disease, asthma and chronic obstructive lung disease, cancer and mental illness. 

This stream is focused on the role of primary health care in improving health and social care integration.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        

Health Environment
This stream is in development and responds to the need and opportunities to co-create intelligence for better health at the interface between local, national and international institutions, the human impacted environment, and action on determinants of health.

Action for Equity
This stream supports better and fairer health for families and communities locally, nationally and internationally.

Informatics and eHealth
This stream address the need for up-to-date information and knowledge management and exchange in the diagnosis and management chronic illness and, increasingly, co-existing multiple systems morbidity. 

CPHCE Executive

Our Executive Committee provides direction in regards to the day to day operation of the Centre




Mark Harris

Executive Director, CPHCE

Associate Professor

Freddy Sitas 

Director CPHCE


Evelyne de Leeuw 

Director, CHETRE

Associate Professor

Margo Barr

Director, Health Care System Integration Stream 

CPHCE Steering Committee
The Steering Committee ensures the efficient and effective management of the Centre for Primary Health Care and Equity, particularly in relation to:
  • management of finances and other resources (i.e. human)
  • research governance and integrity
  • adherence to all policies and procedures of UNSW and relevant external bodies
Voting Members
Prof John Watson
Senior Vice Dean, Clinical Affairs, Faculty of Medicine, UNSW 
Prof Mark Harris
Executive Director, Centre for Primary Health Care and Equity, UNSW
A/Prof Freddy Sitas
Director, Centre for Primary Health Care and Equity, UNSW
Prof Rebecca Ivers
Head, School of Public Health and Community Medicine, UNSW
Prof Bill Randolph
Director, City Futures Research Centre, Faculty of the Built Environment, UNSW
Prof Ilan Katz
Director, Social Policy Research Centre, UNSW
Sue Colley
Director, Allied Health, SWSLHD
Dr Teresa Anderson
Chief Executive Officer, SLHD
Tobi Wilson
Chief Executive Officer, SESLHD
Non-Voting Member
Ms Sarah Ford (Secretariat)Finance Officer, CPHCE

CPHCE Advisory Committee

The CPHCE has also established an Advisory Committee chaired by Emeritus Professor Ian Webster AO. The Committee includes representatives from all levels of government, several Universities, Area Health Services, public health, general practice and community health services, as well as consumers. Committee membership spans interests in general practice, community health, health promotion, public health, consumer participation, intersectoral action and health service management.

The Advisory Committee provides strategic advice to the CPHCE on research priorities and monitors the quality of the work that is being undertaken. It provides the CPHCE with critical advice on the direction of its research program helping to plan a coherent strategic direction while responding to opportunities as they arise. The Committee also plays a critical function in reviewing financial and academic performance. The Advisory Committee currently meets four times a year

Prof Mark HarrisExecutive Director, Centre for Primary Health Care and Equity
Prof Bill Bellew

Adjunct Professor, School of Public Health, University of Sydney 

Dr Christine WalkerExecutive Officer, Chronic Illness Alliance
A/Prof Freddy SitasDirector, Centre for Primary Health Care and Equity
Prof Siaw-teng LiawDirector, WHO Collaborating Centre
Prof Evelyne de Leeuw Director, Centre for Primary Health Care and Equity
A/Prof Ben Harris-Roxas Director, Centre for Primary Health Care and Equity
Dr Michael Moore CEO, Central and Eastern Sydney PHN
Louise Riley 

Assistant Secretary, Primary Care, Dental & Palliative Care, Department of Health 

Dr Greg StewartChair, Centre for Primary Health Care and Equity Advisory Group 
David LilleyActing Director, Centre for Primary Health Care and Equity
Miranda Shaw 

General Manager, Community Health Services, Sydney Local Health District

Natalie Cook 

Primary NSW & Health Network Coordinator, Sydney North Health Network

Stephen Conaty 

Director, Population Health, South Western Sydney Local Health District

Tony Jackson

Deputy Director, Primary Integrated and Community Health, South Eastern Sydney Local Health District

Vicki WadeSenior Cultural Advisor, RHDAustralia